Home Sign Project

Decorate Your “Home” Sign

Hello crafty friends! Shannon here. Have you seen this adorable wood sign currently available at Brutus Monroe? It has been sold out and restocked several times over. If you have purchased it, have you decorated yours yet? I finally got the chance to do mine over the weekend and thought I would share a few ideas. Because this project has a little more to it than a card, I didn’t include a lot of the detailed tutorial here. If you would like more details on how I created these, please watch the video on Youtube. Crafty Shannonigans YouTube

For the paw I used a stain pen I received in my Farm Inspiration Box. It was exclusive to the box so it is not currently available. I liked that it went on a little sheer so the details of the wood and also the design show through. 

I used Aqua Pigments in various colors on the other pieces in this photo.They also allowed for the details to show through. In addition I used black acrylic paint and Alabaster Glitter Glaze on the bee. 

Unfinished Home Sign With Changeable O, 18 X 6 Inches

Aqua Pigment Bundle – Series 1

Glitter Glaze – Alabaster

For the ornament I used Frosted Gold Aqua Pigment and gold glitter for the details.

I used various glitter from my stash for all of the other pieces in the photo.

Metallic Aqua Pigment – Gold Frost

I think this last method is my favorite. Brutus Monroe has so many gorgeous papers! I may even go back and redo some of my other pieces with this method because I love the look. 

For the house I used Yellow and Brown Aqua Pigments and then cut and glued a heart punched out of paper from the Slimline Rainbow Dot paper.

I used Weathered Wood paper for the rooster, Rustic Florals paper for the bunny, and Fresh Melon paper for the shamrock. 

Slimline Paper Pad – Rainbow Dot

Weathered Wood Paper Pad

Rustic Florals Paper Pad

Fresh Melon Paper Pad

I used black and white paint on the sign itself. 

Now is a great time to complete your sign as so many fun holidays are approaching. I hope you are inspired to get yours out and decorate! 

Hugs,

Shannon

Leave a comment